" />
Buy Tickets Shop Now Donate Today Auction
" id="main-content-wrap">
UPMC LiveWire UPMC LiveWire - The Official Athletic Blog of the University of Pittsburgh: Search Results

Results tagged “All-American”

Pitt defensive tackle Aaron Donald has been named a first team All-American by the Associated Press.

The NCAA uses five All-America squads to determine consensus and unanimous status: AP, American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), Football Writers (FWAA), Sporting News and Walter Camp. Aaron has already been named to three of these squads (first-team selection by AP, Sporting News and Walter Camp.) The other two teams will be announced this week.

The last Pitt player to be a unanimous first-team All-American was wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald in 2003.

The last Pitt defensive player to be a unanimous first-team All-American was defensive end Hugh Green in 1980. (Green was also unanimous in 1979. 

Pitt players have earned unanimous status 13 times (11 different players - Green and Bill Fralic [1983-84] were two-time unanimous picks).

The Sporting News All-America Team

The Walter Camp All-America Team

The complete 2013 AP All-America Team:


Quarterback -- Jameis Winston, redshirt freshman, 6-foot-4, 229 pounds, Florida State.
Running backs -- Andre Williams, senior, 6-0, 227, Boston College; Ka'Deem Carey, junior, 5-10, 196, Arizona.
Tackles -- Jake Matthews, senior, 6-5, 305, Texas A&M; Cyrus Kouandjio, junior, 6-6, 310, Alabama.
Guards -- Cyril Richardson, senior, 6-5, 340, Baylor; David Yankey, senior, 6-5, 313, Stanford.
Center -- Bryan Stork, senior, 6-4, 300, Florida State.
Wide receivers -- Brandin Cooks, junior, 5-10, 186, Oregon State; Mike Evans, sophomore, 6-5, 225, Texas A&M.
Tight end -- Jace Amaro, junior, 6-5, 260, Texas Tech.
All-purpose player -- Jordan Lynch, senior, 6-0, 216, Northern Illinois.
Kicker -- Roberto Aguayo, redshirt freshman, 6-1, 203, Florida State.

Ends -- Michael Sam, senior, 6-2, 255, Missouri; Jackson Jeffcoat, senior, 6-5, 250, Texas.
Tackles -- Aaron Donald, senior, 6-0, 285, Pittsburgh; Will Sutton, senior, 6-1, 288, Arizona State.
Linebackers -- Anthony Barr, senior, 6-4, 248, UCLA; C.J. Mosley, senior, 6-2, 238, Alabama; Ryan Shazier, junior, 6-2, 230, Ohio State.
Cornerbacks -- Darqueze Dennard, senior, 5-11, 197, Michigan State; Lamarcus Joyner, senior, 5-8, 190, Florida State.
Safeties -- Cody Prewitt, junior, 6-2, 220, Mississippi; Deone Bucannon, senior, 6-1, 198, Washington State.
Punter -- Tom Hornsey, senior, 6-3, 210, Memphis.

Quarterback -- Johnny Manziel, sophomore, Texas A&M.
Running backs -- Tre' Mason, junior, Auburn; Bishop Sankey, junior, Washington.
Tackles -- Cameron Erving, junior, Florida State; Taylor Lewan, senior, Michigan.
Guards -- Gabe Jackson, senior, Mississippi State; Xavier Su'a-Filo, junior, UCLA.
Center -- Gabe Ikard, senior, Oklahoma.
Wide receivers -- Sammy Watkins, junior, Clemson; Davante Adams, sophomore, Fresno State.
Tight end -- Eric Ebron, junior, North Carolina.
All-purpose player -- Ty Montgomery, junior, Stanford.
Kicker -- Anthony Fera, senior, Texas.

Ends -- Vic Beasley, junior, Clemson; Shilique Calhoun, sophomore, Michigan State.
Tackles -- Timmy Jernigan, junior, Florida State; Kelcy Quarles, junior, South Carolina.
Linebackers -- Trent Murphy, senior, Stanford; Khalil Mack, senior, Buffalo; Chris Borland, senior, Wisconsin.
Cornerbacks -- Justin Gilbert, senior, Oklahoma State; Jason Verrett, senior, TCU.
Safeties -- Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, junior, Alabama; Ahmad Dixon, senior, Baylor.
Punter -- Drew Kaser, sophomore, Texas A&M.

Quarterback -- A.J. McCarron, senior, Alabama.
Running backs -- Carlos Hyde, senior, Ohio State; Ameer Abdullah, junior, Nebraska.
Tackles -- Jack Mewhort, senior, Ohio State; Gregory Robinson, sophomore, Auburn.
Guards -- John Urschel, senior, Penn State; Ryan Groy, senior, Wisconsin.
Center -- Reese Dismukes, junior, Auburn.
Wide receivers -- Allen Robinson, junior, Penn State; Jordan Matthews, senior, Vanderbilt.
Tight end -- Austin Seferian-Jenkins, junior, Washington.
All-purpose player -- Odell Beckham Jr., junior, LSU.
Kicker -- Jeff Budzien, senior, Northwestern.

Ends -- Marcus Smith, senior, Louisville; Jeremiah Attaochu, senior, Georgia Tech.
Tackles -- Ra'Shede Hageman, senior, Minnesota; Leonard Williams, sophomore, Southern California.
Linebackers --Shayne Skov, senior, Stanford; Max Bullough, senior, Michigan State; Denicos Allen, senior, Michigan State.
Cornerbacks -- Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, junior, Oregon; Vernon Hargreaves III, freshman, Florida.
Safeties -- Jimmie Ward, senior, Northern Illinois; Ty Zimmerman, senior, Kansas State.
Punter -- Austin Rehkow, freshman, Idaho.

Donald forced fumble UVA.jpg

Continuing to add to his tally of honors and awards, on Tuesday senior defensive tackle Aaron Donald was named the Defensive Player of the Year and a unanimous first team selection will run a live online show at 2 p.m. ET to discuss the team. Included in the broadcast will be an interview with Donald. 



Recent Comments

Get Social


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago